This article explains the three roles PhotoCircle uses to control what people can do within a Circle — Moderator, Contributor, and Guest — plus the separate Workspace Admin role, definitions for each configurable permission, and how permissions apply across your Groups.
Available Roles
PhotoCircle uses three roles to control what people can do in a particular Circle: Moderator, Contributor, and Guest.
Moderator and Contributor roles are Circle-specific, so the same user may be a Moderator for some Circles in the Workspace but a Contributor for others.

Moderator
- Who gets this role: Internal role only reserved for employees with a paid seat in the Workspace. By default, Workspace Admins and any employee who creates a Circle. Other employees can be promoted to Moderator status.
- Permissions: All permissions (except those that can be disabled globally, like Comments) will be accessible to Moderators and cannot be disabled.
- Access to Other Features: Moderators are also able to:
- Remove and block other members
- Remove media and comments uploaded by others
- Edit a Circle's title and designate a Cover Photo
- Delete Circles that do not include any media or members (i.e. empty Circles)
- Moderate content uploaded by Guests before it displays to other Guests when Moderation has been enabled.
- Send messages and PDF files via the Updates feature.
- Media Ownership
- All uploads from their account are owned by the Workspace. They may Inactivate their membership in a specific Circle or a Workspace Admin may deactivate their account, and their media will remain.
- Accidentally deleted media can be recovered within the timeframe specified by the selected plan.
Contributor
- Who gets this role: Internal role only reserved for employees with a paid seat in the Workspace. Other team members who join a Circle.
- Permissions: Permissions can be enabled/disabled as needed.
- Access to Other Features:
- Can view Guest uploads that are pending moderation when Moderation is enabled.
- Can view PDF files and messages sent by a Moderator in the Updates section.
- Media Ownership
- All uploads from their account are owned by the Workspace. They may Inactivate their membership in a specific Circle or a Workspace Admin may deactivate their account, and their media will remain.
- Accidentally deleted media can be recovered within the timeframe specified by the selected plan.
Guest
- Who gets this role: People outside your organization (e.g., customers, vendors, volunteers). The ability for External Guests to join Circles can be disabled for your entire Workspace or, on plans that support per-Group permissions, for individual Groups.
- Permissions: Permissions can be enabled/disabled as needed.